Tags

, , , , ,

My 6 year old is in LOVE with prunes… so if I buy them they are gobbled and I actually have to ration them. BUT, as with all things, he will soon tire of them for a bit and no doubt I’ll be left with a bag or 2 of prunes… so at that point I’ll cook this little loaf which is nice hot or cold and delicious toasted. You can omit the nuts if you want to put in lunchboxes.

WHAT YOU NEED

60g butter, margarine or coconut oil

1/3 cup sugar (i use raw brown sugar)

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup chopped prunes

1/2 cup chopped pecans

250g self raising flour (I use wholemeal)

few shakes nutmeg and cinnamon

1/2 cup bran

1 cup boiling water

 

WHAT TO DO

Put all wet ingredients plus prunes, sugar and nuts in a bowl – pour the boiling water over and stir til butter melts

Sift the flour and spices into a bowl, stir in the bran

Mix in the wet ingredients

Pour into a greased and lined loaf tin and smooth the top

Bake at 170C for about 45 mins til cooked (you may need to cover part way through with some foil if it is getting too brown. Leave in tin to cool 10 mins then turn out to cool.

Enjoy X