Tags

, , , , , , ,

I often make this foccacia bread with my kids – I made it a couple of times with my older son’s kinder class last year (when they were all about 3 or 4 years old) so I know it is a well tested recipe with many kids from a cooking and eating point of view! It  is also a very quick recipe and I, for one, am a fan of baking with kids that isnt just muffins or cookies (though some of those recipes will also make their way on here I am sure!)

I usually make it to look like the pic below – with spinach leaves or basil and cherry tomatoes baked in, but you can also experiment with other toppings like onions (I use red onions), capsicum and mushrooms. The kids LOVE decorating it.

The picture below is one I snapped PRE oven – it looks just as gorgeous once it’s cooked!

Here’s what you need:

2 3/4 cups plain flour

1 tablesppon dry yeast

1 tsp each salt and sugar

A few teaspoons of dried herbs – I use oregano, parsely, thyme (but whatver you like is good, make sure you use some though)

A tsp garlic

Big handful rosemary (fresh) – ideally if you have it in the garden

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 cup water

Big handful grated cheese

Whichever toppings you want to decorate with

 

Here’s what you do (or what you tell your kids to do):

Pop oven on to preheat to 230C of 450F

Sift all dry ingredients together into a big bowl

Mix in oil and water

Once it is coming together into a sticky dough turn onto floured surface

Knead until very ‘elastic’ – kids love the kneading process

Pop back into the bowl to rise for about 20 mins (cover with a damp tea towel and put somewhere warm – kids love to search for a spot in the house)

Play lego or something and then be totally surpised when it has grown SOOOOOO big 20 mins later!

Punch out the air and put dough onto a baking sheet lined with baking paper

Spread out into a rectangle or oval shape about 1.5 cm thick

Decorate and sprinkle over cheese

Bake at 230C or 450F for about 15 mins until golden

GOBBLE!  

 

