Tags

, , , , , , ,

I just found out it is International Vegetarian day – the first time I posted a meaty recipe! Had to laugh so I thought I’d post a vego favourite that also happens to be gluten free.

I LOVE eggplant in all its forms – cooked with lots of garlic, made into baba ganoush – I even love the look of their beautiful shiny skins. I find kids quite like them too when they are cooked well – as they soak up yummy flavours easily.

Here is a yummy recipe – it goes really well with crusty baguette (for those who aren’t gluten free) or with some crispy spuds or a green salad.

 

WHAT YOU NEED:

2 big eggplants

Salt

Olive oil for frying

Polenta

Jar/bottle of good quality passata

Some pesto (maybe another use for my parsley pesto) – basil pesto, parsley pesto or just some basil leaves

Parmesan cheese (fresh grated)

 

WHAT TO DO:

Slice eggplants into 5mm slices and put in a big bowl (line the bowl) and sprinkle liberally with salt

Allow to sit for about 1-2 hours and pat dry (this gets out the bitterness)

Mix the passata and pesto/basil and tip some into the bottom of a baking dish.

Tip polenta into a shallow dish and coat both sides of eggplant with polenta – gives a delicious texture to it all

Top with a layer of eggplant, then passata mix then cheese

Repeat and finish with passata and cheese

Bake – about 30 mins at 170 Celcius (check to see if it is cooked and bubbling)

ENJOY!

 

