To continue the gluten free theme this week I mined my recipes for some baked omelettes. I love omelettes – a perfect package of goodness for the whole family (and my kids, especially Mr 4 are total egg freaks).  I find baking omelettes easier when I am juggling many things as you basically spend 5 mins mixing everything together and then whack it in the oven to do the hard work.  They are good hot or cold and make a good packed lunch for kids and adults if any is left over from dinner.  Feel free to vary what you put in, I have posted 1 of my favourites ( gluten free, dairy free and soy free) for some inspiration… enjoy!

Baked Asian Omelette

WHAT YOU NEED:

sesame oil (about a tsp)

olive oil (about 3 tsp)

Small chilli if your kids will eat it or a little bit of capsicum – finely chopped

1 tsp grated ginger

Chopped garlic – about 1-2 cloves

2 cups chopped mushrooms – I use shitake (have a look at the packet, most need about 30 mins pre soak time)

4 green onions sliced (scallions or spring onions)

I bunch corriander finely chopped (lose the stems)

8 eggs (I use organic – buy the best eggs you can find/afford)

– this takes about 5 mins to prepare and 20 mins in the oven…

 

WHAT TO DO:

Preheat oven to 160C (325F)

Put both oils in a skillet and saute chilli/capsicum, ginger, spring onions, mushrooms – about 5 mins

Beat eggs and pour over the vege mix (can do in a pie dish of your skillet isnt oven proof)

Pop into oven for about 20 mins until set.

ENJOY!

 

 

If your kids aren’t likely to eat this of course there are so many other more popular/known combinations too – any of the following go well in a baked omelette – cheese, tomato, mushroom, ham/other meat, salmon, tuna, smoked salmon or trout, zucchini…. Feel free to comment with your favourite combinations. x

