Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

YUMMY! and made totally by my 6 year old!

YUMMY! and made totally by my 6 year old!

These are a favourite snack for me and my kids. They are relatively high in sugar (from the dates) so treat them as a treat! I have posted my recipe here – but adapt as you like (I also sometimes add some pea protein powder)… Kids love rolling them into balls and can pretty much make the whole thing as long as you trust them with your food processor! They will last about 3 weeks in the fridge, as long as they aren’t gobbled up first!

YOU NEED:

About 16 medjool dates (the fresh ones from the fruit section)

300g (ish) raw almonds

1 tablespoon or so cocoa powder or you can use raw cacao nibs

1 tsp vanilla

2 tsp cinnamon

(about 1 tablespoon protein powder if you want)

Coconut and other goodies (i use sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, goji berries)

WHAT TO DO:

– add nuts, cinnamon, cocoa and protein powder to food processor and pulse until finely crushed (experiment with the texture but I make it quite ‘mealy’)

– add the dates (take pits out) and perhaps a tablespoon water and the vanilla – process until a thick mixture forms (may need bit more water)

– roll into walnut size balls and then into coatings (i usually use coconut)

– pop in a container in layers, seperated by baking paper

– store in fridge

TOTALLY DELICIOUS!

I’d love to hear your variations on this theme – think about different nuts, adding seeds etc

