Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

To close out gluten free week (which I think will make a reappearance soon, and I will certainly post many more gluten free recipes) I thought I would share 2 delicious recipes using quinoa.  Quinoa must have changed many a gluten free eater’s life!  The Quinoa Choc cake is decandent and delicious – perfect for dinner parties, a weekend treat or just to make a special person smile! I love it served with lots of fresh berries and some coconut yoghurt or ice cream if it is for a special occasion. This cake freezes REALLY well so is good to have in small slices for a school lunchbox treat too. 

The porridge will be a great warmer on a cold morning and is a good alternative to oats or processed cereals – mix it up a bit with berries, nuts, seeds etc on top.  If I am making this I usually make the quinoa the night before so it is ready to go.

Love to hear how these go! X

Quinoa Porridge

WHAT YOU NEED:

2 cups cooked quinoa (I use white for this recipe)

2 cups almond milk

2 tablespoons coconut milk

Various toppings – honey, nuts, seeds, berries, banana etc

WHAT TO DO:

Add quinoa and almond milk to a pan and simmer until creamy.

Serve with the toppings!

(note – kids will probably like this more if it is smoother so you may want to blend it for your kids)

 

Decadent Quinoa Chocolate Cake

WHAT YOU NEED:

2 cups cooked quinoa (I use red or black for this but any is fine)

4 eggs

1/3 cup coconut milk

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup melted butter or coconut oil (oil will make the cake more dense and heavy)

3/4 cup sugar (coconut sugar goes well)

3/4 cup cocoa

1.5 tsp baking powder

1/2 teaspoon bicarb

WHAT TO DO:

Heat oven to 180 C and grease and line a small pan (20 cm)

Combine milk, eggs and vanilla

Add quinoa and butter and blend until smooth (I actually use a blender for this not a mixmaster)

Mix in all the other ingredients and combine

Bake for 35-40 mins (test from 30 mins)

 

 

