Tags

, , , , , ,

Pretty much every kid I know devours honey soy chicken, often called ‘sticky chicken’ in my house!

This version is quick to prepare and has good enough flavour for the adults too! I usually serve with some steamed rice or noodles, cut up cucumbers and some other greens (brocollini usually) on the side. It is nice with some sweet chilli too. As it uses chicken marylands, it is pretty budget friendly too if you are watching your $$.

 

WHAT YOU NEED:

1/2 cup  tamari sauce (you can use soy but I always use tamari in place of soy)

2 tablespoons rice bran oil

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons Shaosing (if you dont have this a dry sherry would work, may have to get from your parents!)

Tablespoon each of crushed garlic and grated ginger

4 Chicken marylands (get the butcher to cut them into 2 each so you have 8 pieces)

 

WHAT TO DO:

Mix all ingredients (except chicken together)

Put chicken into a flat dish and pour marinade over

Leave for at least an hour (I marinade in morning and leave all day while I am at work)

Remove chicken from marinade and place in a roasting dish with the skin facing up

Bake for 45 mins at 180 C ad turn over as the chicken browns – I baste with extra marinade while they cook -about 3 times all up

Cut the chicken into pieces to serve with the rice and vegies (I use chicken scissors to do this)

YUM!

(leftover meat is good with salad for lunch or in a fried rice or similar for kids dinner so sometimes I make 6 marylands – the same marinade amount will do)

 

