Tags

, , , ,

I love making ‘loaves’….they feel like a special treat for breakfast or brunch and are also great in lunchboxes.  I make quite a variety – and will post more another time – but this one is a goody as it only need a little bit of sugar due to the dried fruit content. You can make it without the sugar too, My kiddies have loved it since they were little and it freezes quite well too.  I sometimes grab a slice from the freezer to take to work when I am going in early – it defrosts while I am in my first meeting or 2 and I have it with a cup of tea for a late breakfast.

WHAT YOU NEED

2 cups wholemeal self raising flour

1 cup yoghurt (I use a full fat natural yoghurt, or a full fat greek yoghurt – the low fat ones don’t work as well)

1/3 cup orange juice

2 eggs

100 g butter melted

about 100g sugar (caster)

About 2 cups chopped dried fruit – I use figs, raisins, apricots

rind of an orange

WHAT TO DO

Beat all ingredients except dried fruit in a mixer until just combined

Stir in dried fruit – you can also stir in some chia or linseeds if this tickles your fancy

Pour into a greased and lined loaf pan and cover with foil

Bake (at 180 C) about and hour and a quarter – remove foil and bake about 10-15 more mins

Stand for 10-15 mins before turning out to a rack to cool

Yummy at room temp when very fresh and also toasted with some butter

