Tags

, , ,

When I was little my mum used to make a really yummy shepherd’s pie out of leftover roast lamb and mashed potato. I’ve never been able to recreate this delicious mint saucy, gravy filled yumminess but I have made this yummy lentil and veggie version which my kids enjoy a lot – and so do I.

Given it’s pretty rainy and cold here, despite it being November, I thought this could be a good recipe to try out this week.

Enjoy

WHAT YOU NEED
1 onion finely chopped

1 big carrot diced

2 celery stalks chopped

2 cloves crushed garlic

1 cup tomato passata (or a big tin of diced tomatoes)

1 bay leaf and some thyme (fresh or dried)

1 cup veg stock

400g lentils (rinsed and drained) – I use brown lentils for this one

800g potatoes peeled and chopped (I use desiree usually but dutch cream are great too)

50g unsalted butter

1/2 cup milk

2 eggs

Some grated cheese

WHAT TO DO

In a big pan heat some olive oil and cook onion for a couple of mins then add the celery, carrot and garlic and cook for another minute or 2.  Add the passata, herbs and stock (I sometimes also add some pesto if I have it – the parsley pesto I posted a while ago goes well). Simmer for about 15 mins. Add lentils and transfer to a baking dish.

Cook the potatoes and mash and then add the milk, egg yolks (I actually use 1 whole egg and one extra yolk) and cheese (about a handful). Spread potato over lentil mix.  Bake at 200C for about 15 mins until golden.

