Tags

,

After I posted the recipe a while back for pumpkin and ricotta lasagne I had a couple of requests for more pumpkin recipes that kids like… I wrote back to many of you with tips like adding cubed and pureed pumpkin to bolognaise sauce (which makes it really sweet) or adding to savoury muffins or frittata.  I also heard from one person who made my easiest ever savoury muffins with mashed pumpkin instead of creamed corn (which sounds like a winner).  Then I just remembered this yummy recipe which I havent made for AGES but which both of my kids loved a while back (so I will reignite this one soon!). Enjoy!

WHAT YOU NEED

1 onion chopped finely

about 3 cups chopped pumpkin (this is usually 1 big chunk or 2 medium) – I cut into chunks and usually use butternut squash

3 cloves garlic finely chopped

pinch of dried chilli

3 cups vege stock

1 cup thin cream

1 1/2 cups grated cheddar

2 cups fresh breadcrumbs (just put some stale bread in your food processor)

grated lemon zest from 1 lemon

300g macaroni or similar small shapes

WHAT TO DO

Heat some olie oil in a frypan and add onion and garlic and stir until onion softens slightly

Add pumpkin and dried chilli and stir then add half the stock and cook for about 5 mins until the pumpkin slightly softens

Stir in pasta, cream and the rest of the stock – I sometimes add some rosemary too

Season and then simmer on low heat for about 10 mins until the pasta and the pumpkin are tender

Process breadcrumbs, lemon zest and a handful parsley if you have it, plus half the cheese in the food processor to make fine crumbs

Add some olive oil – a big splash and combine

Stir the rest of the cheese into the pasta mix then put this into a baking dish

Scatter the crumbs over and bake for 15 mins until golden at 200C

