As today is Anzac Day and as one of my all time favourite treats is a slightly chewy Anzac cookie I thought I’d share a new recipe with you – for a healthier version! These are a great biscuit to make all year round and I am happy for my kids to eat them for afternoon tea.  You can vary them with chopped dried apricots, raisins or choc chips added… Or by changing the nut meal that you use or adding quinoa flakes instead of oats…I also often add a scoop of chia. But these are always a hit… Maybe cook some today and tell your kids the Anzac story or do as I will and make a batch of “real” Anzac cookies today and make these next week as an after school treat.

They freeze ok too.

 

WHAT YOU NEED

1 cup each of almond meal, rolled oats and shredded coconut

1/2 cup rapadura sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup coconut oil

2 tablespoons maple syrup

1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda

1 tablespoon water

 

WHAT TO DO

mix all dry ingredients except bicarb

heat oil and maple syrup on low heat to melt and combine

mix bicarbonate and water (it will fizz – kids love this) and add to oil mix

Shape into small balls with damp hands and line on a tray lined with baking paper

bake 20-30 mins at around 160-180 (watch to ensure don’t burn)

enjoy!

 

 

 

